What’s In My Hospital Bag


I think it’s really important to pack what you feel you will want/need during and post labour to make you feel most comfortable, no matter whether someone else feels it may be excessive or not enough- it’s you that’s doing the hard work!

Due to being monitored closely and having a slightly high risk pregnancy, I packed my bags with the mindset that I may deliver the baby earlier than my due date and with the expectation that I may stay at the hospital for a night or 2. It may be a case that I remove/add items the closer I get to my due date but I have currently packed the following.

For me during labour:

  • Green notes
  • Dressing gown 
  • Socks
  • Nightie
  • Lip balm
  • Hair tie 
  • Water
  • Snacks
  • Phone charger
  • Chewing gum
  • Tissues

    For me post labour:

    • Maternity sanitary pads x24
    • Breast pads x8
    • Socks
    • Pyjamas
    • Nightie
    • Shampoo
    • Shower gel
    • Toothbrush
    • Toothpaste
    • Deodorant
    • Going home outfit
    • Hairbrush
    • Plastic bags for dirty washing x2
    • Nursing bras x2
    • Moisturiser
    • Nipple cream
    • Big comfy knickers
    • Micellar water & cotton wool
    • Nursing bras/ breast pads
    • Phone & charger
    • Minimal makeup (BB Cream, Mascara, lipstick)

      For baby:

      • Tiny baby sleepsuits x3
      • Newborn sleepsuits x3
      • Tiny baby vests x3
      • Newborn vests x3
      • Hats x2
      • Nappies x20
      • Water wipes
      • Cellular blanket
      • Muslin
      • Cotton wool

        For Lee/ Mum

        • Snacks
        • Drinks
        • Phone chargers
        • Wallet/purse
        • Magazines

        I have packed a bag for Ella to make it easier for whoever looks after her while we are in hospital having the baby.

        Bag for Ella:

        • 2x vests
        • 1x top
        • 1x cardigan
        • 1x leggings
        • 1x socks
        • 1x sleepsuit
        • 2x oat bars
        • 2x raisins
        • 1x oreo snack pack
        • 1x mini bag haribo
        • 4x nappies
        • 1x cream
        • 1x wipes
        • Toothpaste
        • Toothbrush
        • Nappy bags
        • Super concentrate orange squash (handbag sized bottle)

        If you can think of anything I’ve forgotten or something you’d recommend, please feel free to suggest it in the comments.

        2 thoughts on “What’s In My Hospital Bag

        1. Wow here I go already, just reading the hospital bag contents is making this impending birth so very real. I cannot wait to hold my new grandchild and to see them come into the world will be such a precious time. Very emotional. I had never thought that you had not gone this far into a pregnancy before, last few weeks can be challenging energy wise, but, so far so good, and as you say, you just get on with things. I feel Ella is feeling a little unsure, she senses change but obviously cannot communicate her feelings. One thing for sure, we are all here to support her as well as you lovely parents and the new offspring. We love you all so much. Mum xxxx

          Liked by 1 person

        Leave a Reply

        